Author Interview: Kimberla Lawson Roby

What do you do when you have a dream of publishing your first novel and receive rejection letter after rejection letter?  You bet on yourself and self-publish!

That’s exactly how Kimberla Lawson Roby began her journey as a writer and now 23 outstanding novels later, Roby has sold more than 2.6 million copies of her novels and has been listed on various bestseller’s lists including Essence Magazine, The New York Times, The Dallas Morning News, Barnes and Noble, just to name a few!

Roby is back with a new novella, Best Friends Forever, and I’m so honored for the opportunity to chat with her about the new release and her success as an author!

Momcapade: Congratulations on your new release Best Friends Forever! What is the message that you want readers to grasp with this novella? 

Roby: Thanks so much for the congrats and the opportunity to interview with you!  In terms of the message, my hope is that readers will walk away realizing how important marriage vows are and how blessed we are when we have, loyal, genuine friends.  I also hope that every reader will evaluate their own friendships, making sure he or she is being the best friend possible to their own best friend, even when times are difficult.

Momcapade: You hit the jackpot with your Curtis Black series! Have you ever considered just focusing your writing on that series due to its success? 

Roby: Sometimes, I do, and this is the reason I write one Reverend Curtis Black novel every year.  But at the same time, I also love being able to write my novellas, such as Best Friends Forever.  I really enjoy switching between the series and my standalone topics.

Momcapade: What is your biggest fear as an author? 

Roby: My biggest fear is not being able to satisfy my readers with every single book.  As a writer, you know this isn’t possible to do every time with all readers, but it is still my hope.

Momcapade: Looking back over your novels, has there been a storyline that you have ever regretted?

Roby: No, not at all because with every book I’ve written, I’ve received feedback from readers, saying how it has helped them in one way or another.  This is always my prayer, that at least one person and hopefully many, will be helped by my stories.

Momcapade: As for your characters, do you have a personal favorite? 

Roby: Curtis’s youngest son, Matthew, has always been my favorite character.  He hasn’t had the best example when it comes to his parents, Curtis and Charlotte, but he still has a huge heart and always tries to do the right thing.  He’s made mistakes and isn’t perfect, but he works hard to treat others the way he wants to be treated.

Momcapade: Who is your biggest inspiration and how has he/she played a role in the development of your main characters? 

Roby: My mom, who sadly passed away in 2001, continues to be my biggest inspiration.  She taught me such meaningful Christian and family values, and I always find myself incorporating those values into many of my characters.  Then for my characters who aren’t such good people, they usually reap what they sow in a very noticeable way.

Momcapade: If you had to choose only one, which of your books would you like to see on the big screen?

Roby: CASTING THE FIRST STONE

Momcapade: What is your definition of success? 

Roby: Waking up each day in great mental and physical health, all while being able to work on your passion and purpose in life.

Momcapade: Do you plan to swing by Dallas on your book tour?  

Roby: Yes, I’ll be signing in Dallas during the week of June 21 for the release of my 24th novel, A SINFUL CALLING!

Oh boy! Can’t wait to see what Curtis Black and his family have up their sleeves this time!

Thank you Mrs. Roby! What a joy to interview one of my favorite authors!

Learn more about Kimberla Lawson Roby’s books and her upcoming events at www.kimroby.com.

Follow Momcapade on Twitter and Instagram @momcapade

 

Leave a Reply

