The Season of Thanks Countdown: Whitney Mitchell

Today’s Seasons of Thanks contributor is one who teaches us to appreciate every, single breath we take and to be grateful for the smallest, daily acts we take for granted.

Whitney Mitchell, of Dallas, TX, is 23 years old. In November 2010, she was a normal 18-year-old attending college and pursing her dream of dancing and acting.  One day Whitney fell ill and developed flu-like symptoms that resulted in Sepsis (an infection of the blood). She was put on life support and given a 12% chance of survival. She pulled through, but unfortunately it damaged her arms and legs resulting in having all four limbs amputated in order to save her life.

After months of being in the hospital, Whitney went to rehab to re-learn all of the things that she hadn’t given a second thought to such as brushing her teeth, using the restroom, dressing and feeding herself. She is currently learning to walk on her prosthetic legs to regain most of her independence. She is also pursuing a career in costume and fashion design and hopes to one day have her own clothing line and be a costume designer for film and television! She writes about her journey to pursue her dreams on her blog Punky Babee.

Whitney is the epitome of courage, strength, and determination! Thank you Whitney for your inspiration!

collage of whitney

Whitney’s Top Five Things She Is Thankful For In 2015
1.  I’m thankful for the love and support from my family.
2. I’m thankful for the friend I made recently that lives in Australia, and connected through my situation.
3. I’m thankful that I’ve been learning how to sew and it’s something that I never thought I would be able to do!
4. I’m thankful that since I’ve lost my arms and legs, nothing has stopped me from trying to reach my goals and pursue my dreams regardless of the situation!
5. It just recently marked 5 years that I fell ill in November of 2010 and doctors told me I only had a 12% chance of survival. I’m thankful that I am alive!
Happy Thanksgiving!
Follow Momcapade on Twitter and Instagram @momcapade

Leave a Reply

